Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education (WICHE)

The Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education offers a variety of programs meant to promote resource sharing among western universities. To learn more about a particular WICHE program, click on one of the following links:

Five decades ago, the governors and legislators of the 15 western states created WICHE, the Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education, to help them provide high-quality, cost-effective education in their states. Toward this end, WICHE enables states to share cooperatively their higher education programs and facilities for training new professionals, conducting research, and sponsoring continuing education to sharpen the skills of current professionals.

WICHE's goals are to increase the availability of higher education in the West, to assist states to have the professionally and technically trained persons they require, and to help states increase the effectiveness and efficiency of their higher education programs. Member states include Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oregon, South Dakota, Utah, Washington and Wyoming. The governors of the 15 states each appoint three Commissioners to direct this nonprofit public organization.

For further information contact:

Arizona WICHE Certifying Officer (Louise Lynch)
2020 North Central, Suite 230
Phoenix, AZ 85004